Reviews

Reviews

DurrusWaterford 14.02.14 | 14.02.2014
Reviews

“Sumptious, impeccable hotel.”

It takes a huge commitment to maintain a glorious old building to this standard and a huge commitment is what you get when you stay in this wonderful hotel. From the moment we arrived every member of staff was a pleasure to deal with - reception felt personally responsible that we had been badly overcharged by our taxi driver from the airport, despite it being nothing to do with them. Our porter took great pleasure in showing off the features of our lovely room ( the TV is IN the mirror ). Everything was spotless, the bathroom was luxurious, the bed was huge. Public areas of the hotel are like, well, a palace. The grand lobby is as beautiful as any great royal palace that you could ever imagine, full of comfortable couches and gilded furnishings. Staff were all very friendly, the concierge desk in particular went out of their way to help us with local tips. We only had one meal here - in the restaurant by the bar as opposed to the Michelin star restaurant - and the food was wonderful. Again, the staff here were so genuine and friendly. We would stay here again for sure.

Ziad N | 10.01.2014
Reviews

"Unique Experience…Superbe”

Excellent Location! wonderful staff and very rich breakfast buffet… The junior suite was large enough for 4 persons, very large walk in closet and the shower was out of this world with two rain showers :)…
Make sure to try Caelis Restaurant (Michelin star)….
I would like to thank the management of the hotel for the wonderful Christmas gift and champagne bottle
Bravo.

S10BHAN86 30.12.13 | 02.01.2014
Reviews

“A most spectacular hotel”

We stayed here for my partners birthday in January 2013 and I cannot fault this hotel. Superb service, luxury rooms, bathrooms with all the little touches you would expect as well as beautiful bar and restaurant area. The hotel is is a great location claw to la rambla and right off the main shopping streets next to the designer shops etc. If we ever go back to Barcelona we will be staying here!

JellyBug 27.12.2013 | 27.12.2013
Reviews

“Luxury style in great location”

Hotel is very centrally located - near the old quarters of Barcelona (and the infamous Rambles street) as well as the shopping street. We had a lovely room, with an amazing bathroom that included an old-style Roman shower. Room was a decent size; bed and sheets were comfy.

Location was great to explore the old quarters. We were close to everything and only had to take a taxi coming in, and onwards to our cruise. We discovered a great restaurant nearby where we ended up having dinner on 2 nights - Ciudad Condal.

Jmhc 20.12.12 | 23.12.2013
Reviews

"Perfection"

My grown daughter and I stayed here over Thanksgiving and had the time of our life. The service is professional and yet so kind and helpful. There is an elegance to the hotel that is combined with a friendliness that makes you feel pampered. The rooms are exquisite; the beds and linens are incredibly comfortable, there is no noise, the bathrooms are beautiful and spacious and the decor is lovely. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels but this is my favorite. It is above a 5 star classification!.

Yallie 15.12.2013 | 16.12.2013
Reviews

“If you only go once”

If you go to Barcelona just once in your life, you should stay at the Palace. It stands head and shoulders above all the rest. It"s rich in architecture and history and has every modern day amenity imaginable.

Located only a few short blocks from the main shopping avenue and the La Rambla district, the hotel is close to great shopping, parks, fountains, outdoor and indoor dining, and even some of Barcelona"s foremost tourist attractions like Antoni Gaudi"s Casa Batllo.

Built by Charles Ritz in 1919, the hotel"s history claims that Salvadoe Dali lived here in the 1950"s and according to our taxi driver, Xavier Kugat parked his Rolls Royce by the front door when he was living at the Ritz..

My wife and I stayed here in October for 1 week and had a wonderful time and we both feel it certainly deserves the 5 star rating. The rooms are spacious and have quality furnishings. Many of the rooms are uniquely shaped to form to the building"s early twenty century architecture and wide open corridors provide a sense of safety and comfort.

From the expert hotel staff to the Michelin rated restaurant Caelis everything was perfect. If you go there you might even get to meet the hotel manager, a friendly guitar paying guy named Juan who seems to be working all day, every day.

El Palace Hotel Barcelone: a super star...

MissPicky1410 26.11.13 | 26.11.2013
Reviews

"Stunning"
I stayed here last week for a short business trip, only two nights, but it was lovely! It"s in a fabulous location and teh hotel still has the old "Ritz" plaque on the floor by the entrance. The reception is around the corner by the entrance, very discreet, not like otehr hotes when it"s out in the open. The concierge service is great, such is teh breakfast service with free Champagne! I had a Classic Deluxe room which was fairly big with a super king bed and the tv was behind the mirror which is really neat. the bathroom is stunning and you get lovely L"Occitane ameneties and even hand cream which is rare. The corridors are huge and although the hotel was full it seemed so quiet. This is really the only place to stay when in Barcelona, just fantastic.

Joang | 30.09.2013
Reviews

“Wonderful Indulgence!”

The Palace offers old world charm that is both Grand and Luxurious! We stayed 3 nights and were upgraded to a Junior Suite. The room was beautifully decorated with comfortable beds, even by European standards which are usually hard as a rock. The bathroom was palatial with a wonderful spa tub, rainfall shower, and Bvlgari toiletries. The staff were professional, friendly and prompt. We had excellent WIFI connection throughout our stay. We did not eat at the restaurant, preferring instead to eat at small local cafes to which there are many within walking distance. The Concierge was most helpful with suggestions. The only con would be the fitness room; it is very small and does not offer much. But, with all the walking you do, it doesn"t create much of an issue. We had a wonderful stay!

Leave your opinion about this hotel