Reviews

Reviews

MCF1 | 02.11.2011
Reviews

Great location in busy Barcelona

Room lived up to its 5* rating and was quiet even though I was on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel facing the busy intersection. Walking distance to most of the sights yet away from the madding crowds.

They have a wonderful Michelin chef in residence which was surprising empty the night i dined. Well worth having the dinner there - ambiance was in the beautifully renovated former ballroom and the presentation and taste of the food was titillating and delightful.

I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

CTLola24 | 02.11.2011
Reviews

Wonderful Stay!

My husband and I recently returned from a 7 night stay at the Palace. The hotel, formerly known as the Ritz, was closed for two years to undergo a renovation that is now completed. This is indeed a 5 star hotelexcellent location! We had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Trip Advisor advice to request a high floor away from the lift resulted in us having a room on the top floor with a small balcony-perfect! The rooms have sound proof windows and room darkening shades but we never found the street noise to be a bother. The bathrooms are lovely with separate shower/tub and a separate room for the toliet. Bathrobes and slippers are provided. Beds are very comfortable.We had a classic deluxe double with an additional twin bed for our 20 year old son. Housekeeping services were excellent.
The public rooms are old world European, very elegant. The staff was gracious ,friendly and very competent. The concierge was able to arrange futbol tickets to see Team Barcelona while we were there. They also helped with tickets to a flamenco performance and train tickets to Figureshome of the Salvador Dali museum.
We had breakfast in the Garden Room twice-pricey but lovely. We also had cocktails in the bar area and also dinner at the hotel one eveningjust wonderful. There is a late night lounge with live music in the basement that had fabulous drinks, great bartenders and was a fun way to end a long day of touring.
I would recommend the hotel and the city of Barcelona to anyone! We had a great time!

RolfParis | 02.11.2011
Reviews

Old World at it's best

2 nights at El Palace, the former Ritz hotel, wonderful lobby in Louis XVI style, great breakfast in the covered interior courtyard, very efficient concierge, comfortable rooms, TV with many international channels, Manager Cristina does a great job

Madi38 | 02.11.2011
Reviews

Fabulous hotel

El Palace made our stay in Barcelona very special. The service, rooms, location were all excellent. The concierge desk were tremendously helpful. The complimentary breakfast was the best we have had in Europe, served in a magnificent outdoor/indoor space with warm heaters for a chilly morning. This hotel was once a Ritz Hotel and it has all the amenities of a Ritz. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip back to Barcelona.

rinopesa | 02.11.2011
Reviews

Where does one start? Upon arrival we were welcomed by David, the wonderful Concierge. He looked after us from the moment we arrived offering advice on what to see, where to go and what to look out for.
The room was exquisite, the bed extremely comfortable and therapeutic, the bathroom spacious and luxuriously fitted out including a ceiling shower outlet which massages the whole body. Upon entering the room there is no television visible, but alas.....it is cleverly disguised as a wall mirror.
We had dinner in the restaurant...excellent and had breakfast in the warm & picturesque courtyard area at the rear which was even better.
The fittings, fixtures and chandeliers of the foyer/public area ooze opulence.
The only regret we have is that we only stayed there one night.
A definite hotel to be shortlisted if contemplating a stay in beautiful Barcelona.

Harriet Jackson | 23.07.2011
Reviews

I spent 3 wonderful nights at El Palace from 13 July-16 July with my adult daughter, my brother & my sister in law. This hotel was absolutely FABULOUS! The hotel was elegant & had the such a wonderful smell. My room was upgraded to a junior suite which was great. I loved, loved, LOVED the bathroom with it"s Jacuzzi tub & separate rainfall shower. The bed was very comfortable & the room was very clean. The staff from front desk to room service were very polite & accommodating. The hotel is centrally located a short walk from the Las Ramblas & other interesting sights. I say again, I loved this hotel! I speak for my family members as well. We will definitely stay here again

AmyLee4 | 10.04.2011
Reviews

Our most favorite hotel on our trip

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. The room and the bathroom were very well appointed and incredibly beautiful. We received very personal service from everyone who worked at the hotel. Great dining recommendations from the concierge. We will definitely stay there again.

HookEm95 | 10.04.2011
Reviews

Pure quality and exceptional service

El Palace Hotel is by far the most elegant hotel that I have stayed at in Europe. The staff are committed to service. We were greeted upon arrival by Celine who showed us around the hotel and took us to our room. We had a Privilege Junior Suite with our 7-year-old. The suite offered a very large bedroom with flat screen TV, connecting sitting room with flat screen TV and an enormous bath - I mean HUGE! Double sinks, closets, separate tub and shower, plus separate water closet. The suite also had a separate half bath with sink and toilet which is great when you have a child with you on vacation. When we came back from sightseeing for a few hours after checking in, we were surprised to see a wonderful treat waiting for us - Cava, orange juice and a lovely cake - all of which we enjoyed after dinner at the hotel"s casual restaurant. Plus they had made up a rollaway bed for our daughter and left her a lovely plush bear to take home. All in all, an excellent stay that we will always remember. FYI - make sure to go down to the new bar and try both the Mojito and Espresso Martini - they are THE BEST!

Leave your opinion about this hotel